

City of Pflugerville

Minutes - Final

City Council

Tuesday, December 19, 2023	6:00 PM	1611 Pfennig Lane

Special Meeting

1. Call to Order

Mayor Victor Gonzales called the special meeting to order at 6:01pm. Mayor Pro Tem Doug Weiss and Councilmembers Ceasar Ruiz, Kimberly Holiday, Rudy Metayer, Jim McDonald, and David Rogers were in attendance.

City staff in attendance: Sereniah Breland, City Manager; James Hartshorn, Deputy City Manager; Emily Barron, Assistant City Manager; Thomas Hunter, Assistant City Manager; Trista Evans, City Secretary; Charles Zech, City Attorney; Jennifer Griswold, Library Director; Tracy Waldron, Finance Director; Shane Mize, Parks and Recreation Director; Jeremy Frazzell, Planning and Development Services Director.

2. Public Comment

Dale Woodkey stated he made Pflugerville his home after moving from Canada and wanted to contribute to the community as a resident of the city. Mr. Woodkey discussed the importance of citizenship and stated that as he his not an American citizen he does not meet the requirements to serve on the boards. Mr. Woodkey stated citizen engagement should not be limited to only citizens.

3. Regular Agenda

3A. <u>2023-1221</u>

Conduct introductions and take action to make appointments to the Library Board for up to three regular members for two-year terms beginning January 1, 2024; and one alternate member for a one-year term beginning January 1, 2024.

Mayor Gonzales opened the item for discussion. Applicants Elizabeth Hudson, Sarah Eddy, Jillian Arizpe, Lisa Sparkman, and Matt Robertson introduced themselves and answered questions from council regarding their interest in the Library Board. Mr. Rogers stated support for Jillian Arizpe, Matt Robertson, and Lisa Sparkman. Mr. McDonald stated support for Jillian Arizpe, Matt Robertson, and Sarah Eddy. Mr. Metayer stated support for Sarah Eddy, Matt Robertson, and Lisa Sparkman. Mayor Gonzales stated support for Sarah Eddy, Jillian Arizpe, Lisa Sparkman. Ms. Holiday stated support for Matt Robertson, Jillian Arizpe, and Sarah Eddy. Mayor Pro Tem Weiss stated support for Matt Robertson, Sarah Eddy, and Jillian Arizpe.

Mayor Pro Tem Weiss moved to appoint Matt Robertson, Jillian Arizpe, and

Sarah Eddy to the regular member terms. Mr. Metayer seconded the motion. Mayor Gonzales voted no. All others voted in favor. Mr. McDonald moved to appoint Lisa Sparkman to the alternate position. Ms. Holiday seconded the motion. All voted in favor. The motion carried.

3B. <u>2023-1222</u> Conduct introductions and take action to make appointments to the Planning and Zoning Commission for up to three regular members for two-year terms beginning January 1, 2024.

Mayor Gonzales opened the item for discussion. The applicants Alex Luprete, Amanda Maedgen, and Nicholas Hudson answered questions from council. Mr. Metayer moved to reappoint Amanda Maedgen and Nicholas Hudson. Mr. Ruiz seconded the motion. All voted in favor. The motion carried.

3C. <u>2023-1223</u> Conduct introductions and take action to make appointments to the Parks and Recreation Commission for up to four regular members for two-year terms beginning January 1, 2024; and one alternate member for a one-year term beginning January 1, 2024.

Mayor Gonzales opened the item for discussion. Applicants Stanley Taylor, Melissa Call, Ray Trevino, and Alyse Tatum introduced themselves and answered questions from council. Mr. Rogers stated support for Stanley Taylor, Jennifer Bridges, Ray Trevino, and Alyse Tatum. Mr. McDonald stated support for Stanley Taylor, Melissa Call, Ray Trevino, and Jennifer Bridges. Mr. Metayer stated support for Stanley Taylor, Melissa Call, Ray Trevino, and Alyse Tatum. Mayor Gonzales stated support for Stanley Taylor, Melissa Call, Ray Trevino, and Jennifer Bridges. Ms. Holiday stated support for Jennifer Bridges, Stanley Taylor, Lucas Martin, and Alyse Tatum. Mr. Ruiz stated support for Stanley Taylor, Melissa Call, Ray Trevino, and Alyse Tatum. Mayor Pro Tem Weiss stated support for Stanley Taylor, Ray Trevino, Alyse Tatum, and Jennifer Bridges.

Mayor Pro Tem Weiss moved to appoint Stanley Taylor, Ray Trevino, Alyse Tatum, and Jennifer Bridges to the regular positions and Melissa Call to the alternate position on the Parks and Recreation Commission. Mr. Rogers seconded the motion. All voted in favor. The motion carried.

3D. <u>2023-1220</u> Conduct introductions and take action to make appointments to the Finance and Budget Committee for up to two citizen members for two-year terms beginning January 1, 2024 and up to one Councilmember for a term ending following the 2024 General Election.

Mayor Gonzales opened the item for discussion. Mayor Gonzales stated that since none of the applicants were present the item will be brought back in January. No action was taken.

3E. <u>2023-1227</u> Conduct introductions and take action to make appointments to the Equity Commission for up to four regular members for two year terms, one regular member with a term ending date of December 31, 2024 and one alternate member for a one year term beginning January 1, 2024.

Mayor Gonzales opened the item for discussion. Applicants Corie Wallen and Dr. Virginia Miller introduced themselves and answered questions from council. Mayor Pro Tem Weiss stated support for Corie Wallen, Dr. Virginia Miller, and Claudia Torres Yanez. Mr. Ruiz stated support for Corie Wallen, Dr. Virginia Miller, and Claudia Torres Yanez. Ms. Holiday stated support for Corie Wallen, Dr. Virginia Miller, and Claudia Torres Yanez. Mayor Gonzales stated support for Corie Wallen, Dr. Virginia Torres, and Claudia Torres Yanez. Mr. Metayer stated support for Corie Wallen and Dr. Virginia Miller. Mr. McDonald stated support for Claudia Torres Yanez, Corie Wallen, and Dr. Virginia Miller. Mr. Rogers stated support for Dr. Virginia Miller.

Mr. McDonald moved to appoint Claudia Torres Yanez, Corie Wallen, and Dr. Virginia Miller to the Equity Commission. Mr. Metayer seconded the motion. Mr. Rogers voted no. All others voted in favor. The motion carried.

3F. <u>2023-1225</u> Conduct introductions and take action to make appointments to the Deutschen Pfest Committee for up to four regular members for two year terms beginning January 1, 2024.

Mayor Gonzales opened the item for discussion. Mr. Zech answered questions regarding Ms. Call serving on Parks and Recreation Commission and the Deutschen Pfest Committee and stated it was allowed. Rachel Martin introduced herself and answered questions from council.

Mayor Pro Tem Weiss moved to appoint Rachel Martin to the Deutschen Pfest Committee. Mr. Rogers seconded the motion. All voted in favor. The motion carried.

3G. <u>2023-1226</u> Conduct introductions and take action to make appointments to the Board of Adjustment for up to two regular members and two alternate member for two year terms beginning January 1, 2024.

Mayor Gonzales opened the item for discussion. Mayor Pro Tem Weiss moved to reappoint Kevin Kluge to the Board of Adjustment. Mr. McDonald seconded the motion. All voted in favor. The motion carried.

3H. <u>2023-1230</u> Discuss and consider action regarding the Mayor's appointment to the Personnel Appeal Board for a three-year term ending December 31, 2026.

Mayor Gonzales opened the item for discussion. Terry Knighton introduced himself and answered questions from council, stating he is interested in another term. Mayor Gonzales stated he recommended Terry Knighton for the Personnel Appeal Board. Mr. Rogers moved to approve Terry Knighton's appointment to the Personnel Appeal Board. Mayor Pro Tem Weiss seconded the motion. All voted in favor. The motion carried.

4. Adjourn

Mayor Gonzales adjourned the special meeting at 8:50pm.

Respectfully submitted,

Trista Evans, City Secretary

Approved as _____ on January 9, 2023.