

Legislation Text

File #: 2016-5414, Version: 1

Conduct introductions and take action to designate up to five regular members and two alternate members to serve as the Board of Adjustment until December 31, 2016; and discuss and consider action to make appointments to the Board of Adjustment for up to three regular members and one alternate member with two-year terms beginning January 1, 2017 and one alternate member to serve an unexpired term ending December 31, 2017.

The City Charter was amended by the voters at a special election held on November 8, 2016 which changed the composition of the Board of Adjustment to include 5 regular members and 2 alternate members. Mr. Brandon Frye, Mr. Drew Botkin, and Mr. Rodney Blackburn (Alternate) are current members with terms ending December 31, 2017. Mr. Rodney Blackburn has stated interest in serving as a regular member. The terms of Mr. David Prout, Mr. David Rogers, Mr. Craige Howlett (Alternate), Mr. Ed Zamora (Alternate) and Ms. Beatriz Flores (Alternate) are ending December 31, 2016 and one regular member is currently vacant. No applications have been received for the Board of Adjustment as of November 30, 2016.

Deadline for City Council Action

There is no deadline for action on the item.

Fiscal Impact

There is no fiscal impact associated with the item.

Staff Recommendation

Conduct introductions and take action to make appointments to the Board of Adjustment.

In order to provide for the Board of Adjustment through the end of 2016 and to set in place three regular members and one alternate with terms ending one year, and two regular members and one alternate member with terms ending the next year, I make the following recommendations for action.

Appoint Mr. Rodney Blackburn to serve as a regular member with an unexpired term ending December 31, 2017. Regular boardmembers from now until December 31, 2016 would be Mr. Brandon Frye, Mr. Drew Botkin, Mr. Rodney Blackburn, Mr. David Prout and Mr. David Rogers.

Designate two alternate members to serve until December 31, 2016 from the current alternate members: Mr. Craige Howlett, Mr. Ed Zamora and Ms. Beatriz Flores.

Appoint two regular members and one alternate member with two-year terms beginning January 1, 2017.

Appoint one alternate member with an unxpired term ending December 31, 2017.

Drafter

File #: 2016-5414, Version: 1

Karen Thompson City Secretary